Fokus!MBT Fraunhofer FOKUS

Model-based Testing for a more efficient Development Process

Software-intensive systems are omnipresent: Whether in finance and healthcare, in aerospace or traffic, software plays an ever greater role. In order to remain competitive in the market, manufacturers are more and more under pressure to deliver high-quality software systems quickly and reasonably priced. The most effective way to ensure the quality of a software product is testing.

Model-based Testing leads to a more efficient Development Process

Traditional testing still faces the same challenges it has for many years. In short, testing bears a high optimization potential to reduce the time to market:

  • Lack of automation
  • Inflexible process structures
  • Unstructured test case derivation
  • Implicit tester's knowledge
  • Inadequate documentation
  • Insufficient communication among stakeholders

Leading experts in the field of quality assurance are convinced that the most promising approach to mitigate those challenges is Model-Based Testing (MBT). MBT uses formal models to improve automation, documentation and transparency of the entire software development process. This results in a more efficient development process – in time and costs – the main target of the Fokus!MBT tool chain.

Test Modeling Based on the UML Testing Profile

Fokus!MBT is an integrated test modeling environment that guides the user along the methodology of Fokus!MBT and thereby simplifies the creation of the underlying test model. The modeling notation used by Fokus!MBT is the UML Testing Profile (UTP) specified by the Object Management Group. It is a test-specific extension of the Unified Modeling Language (UML), which is prevalently used in the industry. This enables testers to rely on the same language concepts as system architect and requirement engineers, which overcomes problems in communication and support the mutual comprehension.

Test Service Infrastructure

The core of Fokus!MBT is based on a service-oriented concept for test-specific services:

  • Interface description for test cases and/or test data generators, test script generators, test result feedback from different test execution platforms, report engines etc.
  • Adjustment respectively creation of adequate user interfaces and context-specific actions
  • Individual customization of Fokus!MBT

Customized Creation of Test Models

Fokus!MBT is based on the flexible Eclipse RCP platform, the Eclipse Modeling Framework (EMF), and Eclipse Papyrus. As a UTP-based modeling environment it is equipped with all UML diagrams but it also includes additional test-specific diagrams. Besides these diagrams, Fokus!MBT goes for a proprietary editor framework to visualize and edit the test model. On top of these features, Fokus!MBT integrates automated modeling rules which ensure the compliance of guidelines - particularly modeling and naming conventions - after and during working with the test model. These constructive quality assurance mechanisms distinguish Fokus!MBT from other UML tools, accelerate the creation of the model and minimize cost-intensive review sessions.

Extended Traceability of the Requirements in the Test Model

The consequent and continuous traceability among requirements and test artifacts is indispensable, but not sufficient. Fokus!MBT takes a major step forward by integrating the test execution results into the test model's inherent traceability network. This establishes a consistent traceability network between requirement, test case, test script and test execution results, making conclusions about the coverage of the particular requirement or the test progress itself immediately calculable. Furthermore the visualization of the test execution results allows a detailed analysis of the test execution flow to preprocess and ultimately evaluate the test results. Thus the test model includes all relevant information to assess the quality of the system under test in order to support the management in its decision making with respect to the release of the system.

Fokus!MBT
Fokus!MBT Fraunhofer FOKUS

Modellbasiertes Testen für einen effizienten Entwicklungsprozess

Softwareintensive Systeme sind allgegenwärtig – ob im Finanz- und Gesundheitswesen, in der Luft- und Raumfahrt oder in Verkehrsleitsystemen. Um konkurrenzfähig zu bleiben, stehen die Hersteller vor der Aufgabe, qualitativ hochwertige Softwaresysteme schnell und kostengünstig zu liefern. Qualitätssicherungsmaßnahmen sind dabei ein Schlüssel zum Erfolg des Systems. Der effektivste Weg zum Sichern der Qualität ist das Testen des Softwareproduktes.

Modellbasiertes Testen für einen effizienteren Entwicklungsprozess

Traditionelles Testen bringt eine Reihe von Herausforderungen mit sich:

  • Mangel an Automatisierung
  • Unflexible Prozessstrukturen
  • Unstrukturierte Testfallableitung
  • Implizites Wissen des Testers nötig
  • Mangelhafte Dokumentation
  • Unzureichende Kommunikation zwischen Beteiligten


Um diese zu lösen, bieten sich modellbasierte Testmethoden an. Modellbasiertes Testen nutzt formale Modelle, um den gesamten Entwicklungsprozess der Software automatisiert, gut dokumentiert und transparent zu gestalten. Dies ermöglicht einen wesentlich effizienteren Entwicklungsprozess hinsichtlich des zeitlichen wie finanziellen Aufwands – das primäre Ziel von Fokus!MBT.

Testmodellierung auf Basis des UML Testing Profile

Fokus!MBT ist eine integrierte Testmodellierungsumgebung, die den Benutzer zielführend entlang der Fokus!MBT-Methodik leitet und dadurch die Erstellung des zugrunde liegenden Testmodells vereinfacht. Als Modellierungsnotation verwendet Fokus!MBT das von der Object Management Group spezifizierte UML Testing Profile (UTP), eine testspezifische Erweiterung zur in der Industrie weit verbreiteten Unified Modeling Language (UML). Dies ermöglicht den Testern, die gleichen Sprachkonzepte wie die des Systemarchitekten und Anforderungsingenieure zu verwenden, beugt Kommunikationsproblemen vor und fördert das gegenseitige Verständnis.

Testservice-Infrastruktur

Fokus!MBT basiert auf einem serviceorientierten Konzept für testspezifische Services. Dazu gehören:

  • Schnittstellenbeschreibung für Testfall- und/oder Testdatengeneratoren, Testergebnisrückspielung verschiedener Ausführungssysteme, Reportgeneratoren etc.
  • Anpassung bzw. Erstellung angemessener Oberflächen und kontextspezifischer Aktionen
  • Individueller Zuschnitt von Fokus!MBT


Maßgeschneiderte Erstellung von Testszenarien

Fokus!MBT basiert auf der flexiblen Eclipse RCP-Plattform, dem Eclipse Modeling Framework (EMF) sowie Eclipse Papyrus. Als UTP-basierte Modellierungsumgebung verfügt es über alle Diagramme der UML sowie zusätzliche testspezifische Diagramme. Neben den Diagrammen setzt Fokus!MBT auf ein propietäres Editor-Framework zur Darstellung und Bearbeitung des Testmodells. Zusätzlich integriert Fokus!MBT automatisierte Modellierungsregeln, welche die Einhaltung von Richtlinien nach und während der Arbeiten am Testmodell garantieren. Diese präventiven Qualitätssicherungsmechanismen unterscheiden Fokus!MBT von anderen UML-Werkzeugen, bescheinigen die Modellerstellung und minimieren kostspielige Reviewsitzungen.

Erweiterete Nachverfolgbarkeit der Anforderungen im Testmodell

Die konsequente und lückenlose Nachverfolgbarkeit zwischen den Anforderungen und Testartefakten ist unverzichtbar, jedoch nicht ausreichend. Fokus!MBT geht einen Schritt weiter und bezieht zudem die Testführungsergebnisse in die Anforderungsnachverfolgbarkeit innerhalb des Testmodells mit ein. Dadurch entsteht ein durchgängiges Nachverfolgbarkeitsnetzwerk zwischen Anforderung, Testfall, Testskript und Testausführungsergebnis, wodurch der Status der jeweiligen Anforderungen oder der Testfortschritt unmittelbar berechenbar werden. Die Visualisierung der Testführungsergebnisse ermöglicht darüber hinaus, den Ablauf der Testfallausführung zu analysieren, aufzubereiten und auszuwerten. Somit beinhaltet das Testmodell alle relevanten Informationen, um den Qualitätsstatus des getesteten Systems abzuschätzen und das Management bei seiner Entscheidungsfindung über die Freigabe des Systems zu unterstützen.